

Appellate Division Supreme Court of the State of New York Second Judicial Department 45 Monroe Place Brooklyn, New York 11201

Hector D. LaSalle Presiding Justice

PRESS RELEASE

Date: January 18, 2024

Presiding Justice Announces Recipients of the Thirteenth Annual Milton Mollen Commitment to Excellence Award

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK – Presiding Justice Hector D. LaSalle of the Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department, today announced the recipients of the Thirteenth Annual Milton Mollen Commitment to Excellence Award. This annual award is named in honor of former Presiding Justice Milton Mollen, to recognize the achievements and efforts of the employees of the Unified Court System within the Second Judicial Department who have demonstrated the highest level of dedication, integrity and professionalism, qualities that are synonymous with those exemplified by former Presiding Justice Milton Mollen.

The awards will be presented on **Wednesday**, **January 24**, **2024**, **at 1:00 p.m.**, at a formal ceremony to be held in the Courthouse of the Appellate Division for the Second Judicial Department, located at 45 Monroe Place, Brooklyn Heights, New York.

The ceremony will be presided over by Presiding Justice LaSalle and the Associate Justices of the Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department. Among those in attendance will be Hon. Joseph A. Zayas, Chief Administrative Judge of New York State Courts, Hon. Norman St. George, First Deputy Chief Administrative Judge of New York State Courts, Deputy Chief Administrative Judges Hon. Deborah A. Kaplan and Hon. James P. Murphy, as well as the Administrative Judges and District Executives for the judicial districts that comprise the Second Department, just to name a few. Many other retired Justices of the Second Judicial Department, along with several other dignitaries, will attend the special event.

The ceremony will feature special remarks by former Presiding Justice Mollen's son, Scott E. Mollen, a distinguished attorney.

The Thirteenth Annual Milton Mollen Commitment to Excellence Award Recipients are:

Second Judicial District:	Tamara Broadus, Court Clerk Specialist Supreme Court, Kings County, Civil Term
Ninth Judicial District:	Tara Mulcahy, New York State Court Officer Supreme and County Courts, Westchester County
<u>Tenth Judicial District</u> : (Nassau)	Jeffrey M. Carpenter, Esq., Chief Court Attorney Family Court, Nassau County
<u>Tenth Judicial District</u> : (Suffolk)	Ana C. Kestler, Court Interpreter Supreme and County Courts, Suffolk County (Riverhead)
Eleventh Judicial District:	Vincent A. De Rosa, Court Clerk Specialist Supreme Court, Queens County, Criminal Term
Thirteenth Judicial District	: Alberto Figueroa, Senior Court Clerk Supreme Court, Richmond County, Criminal Term

Appellate Division:
Second Department
Ancillary AgencyPhyllis G. Carusillo, Court Analyst
Grievance Committee for the Tenth Judicial DistrictAppellate Division:Honsan Wong, Senior Management Analyst
IT Dept., Appellate Division, Second Department

Upon announcing the names of the awardees, Presiding Justice LaSalle stated,

"We commend these outstanding employees for their diligence, commitment and performance. These individuals deserve our applause and recognition."

Presiding Justice LaSalle expressed deep appreciation to the members of the Executive Selection Committee and, in particular, to its Chairperson, Hon. Mark C. Dillon, for the hard work in evaluating the nominations that were received and choosing the award recipients. In addition to Justice Dillon, the Executive Selection Committee included Hon. Betsy Barros, Hon. Valerie Brathwaite Nelson, Hon. Angela G. Iannacci, Hon. Cheryl E. Chambers, Hon. William G. Ford, all of whom are Associate Justices of the Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department; and Darrell M. Joseph, Acting Clerk of the Court.

The Ceremony will be live-streamed and may be accessed via the Second Department's home page, by clicking on the Oral Argument Live link, or via the following link <u>https://cmi.nycourts.gov/ad2/ad2.php</u>

###