WBASNY to Install Marea L. Wachsman, Esq. as President

WBASNY to Install Marea L. Wachsman, Esq. as President

New York, NY, Wednesday, May 31, 2024 – The Women’s Bar Association of the State of New York (“WBASNY”) is pleased to announce that its 2024 Convention will take place on May 30, 2024 – June 2, 2024, at The Gideon Putnam Resort, Saratoga Springs, New York.

At the Convention, WBASNY’s 2024-2025 Officers will be installed:

President – Marea L. Wachsman, Esq. (Brooklyn); President-Elect – Lisa Noroian, Esq. (Orange-Sullivan); Vice Presidents – Rebekah Nellis Kennedy, Esq. (Capital District); Teresa Nuccio, Esq. (Staten Island) Madison Porzio, Esq. (Queens); Treasurer – Jodi Ann Donato, Esq. (Suffolk); Corresponding Secretary – Senovia M. Moncada, Esq. (Rochester); and Recording Secretary – Kerri L. Yamashita, Esq. (Mid-Hudson).

WBASNY’s 2024 Award Recipients also will be recognized:

Betty Weinberg Ellerin Mentor Award (for serving as a mentor, teacher, guide, and trusted counselor to hundreds of attorneys and judges) – Hon. Elizabeth A. Garry (Del-Chen-O); Joan L. Ellenbogen Founders Award (for work advancing the status of women in society and the law) – Adina C. Gilbert, Esq. (Mid-Hudson); Marilyn R. Menge Award (for valuable and significant contributions to a chapter or statewide organization) – Dawn Reid-Green, Esq. (Staten Island); Doris S. Hoffman Outstanding New Lawyer Award (for bar member of less than five years who has made outstanding achievements within the profession or within the member’s community or both) – Erin L. Peake, Esq. (Brooklyn); Hanna S. Cohn Pro Bono Award (for contributions of pro bono legal services) – Anna S. McCarthy, Esq. (Western New York); Stephanie E. Kupferman Juvenile Justice Award (for outstanding achievement in legal matters involving juveniles) – Joy S. Joseph, Esq. (Westchester); and the Judith S. Kaye Access to Justice Award (for current or former State or Federal public sector employee who has ensured equal access to justice) – Hon. Joanne M. Winslow; and Ruth Bader Ginsnburg Memorial Award (for promoting fairness and gender equality, to eradicate gender bias and to ensure justice for women)​ – Hon. Rosemary S. Pooler (posthumously) (Central New York).